Spread Good Vibes…

I was in the train and keenly watched someone take a selfie severally and trying to pose differently too. She was so engrossed with her ‘selfies’ that she didn’t notice I was looking at her or maybe she cared less who was watching her.

You know that act of taking selfies and trying to pose correctly for the phone camera, lol. Yeah, you know it right, ‘cos you are also ‘guilty’ of that.

Well, you know how it is, turning your chin (face) this way and then that way and then adjusting yet again before clicking. What next? You look at the picture and examined it for some seconds to know if you liked it and could make it public on Facebook, yes, I said on Facebook or isn’t it where you post all those photos? Oh! Okay, there is Instagram too. Haha! Not satisfied with the result, you begin the process all over again, turning your head this way and smiling that way and how I digressed!

So, back in the train and the unfolding ‘entertainment drama’, the lady tried different poses and smiled both in admiration and satisfaction. Interrupted by the announcement of the next station, I disembarked from the train. As I turned on the subway platform, I saw her. The beautiful ‘selfie’ lady. I was happy to see her but not surprised. We literally didn’t plan this but life happens.

I magnetically walked towards her and said a cute hello. She smiled at me, a bit startled though while trying to fix her gaze on me.

“We were in the train together” I said.

“And I could see you love photos”.

“Hope the selfies turned out stunning ‘cos you are really beautiful”.

“Yes, you are beautiful and I am not exaggerating here”.

Oh dear, you needed to see the look on her face. Not a worried look, a deeply surprised look. But one thing was obvious – we were both affected by those words I uttered. We were affected by the power of those pleasant words coming from a ‘stranger’. Yet, it was a life-giving truth said with all sincerity. Her countenance changed as if she wanted to cry. Perhaps, because it was a rarity so to speak.  I got a bit emotional too and how I managed to pull that string. But hey, that’s simply me in my elements, acknowledging things and giving credit to people as I deem fit. Simply me as I make my daily overtures in life.

The young lady looked at me as if to say that I was the most sensitive person in the world. She smiled sweetly and uttered a “thank you, I appreciate your kind remarks”.  I replied with a “you’re welcome, have a great day”. And I turned to the right exit to continue my journey.

And now to you reading this piece, I want to tell you that you are beautiful and striking. Trust me, I mean it. You are beautiful in your own very special way. So go out there in the world today and spread good vibes.

The best of the day to you.

Peace and Love!

Copyright © 2016 by Simpledimple.  All rights reserved.

 

17 thoughts on “Spread Good Vibes…

  1. Love this! We have become so engrossed in our phones we seem to forget that people are living all around us. I too attempt to interact and compliment strangers. You never know what kind of day a person is having, but a little kindness goes a long way! Thank you for sharing you inspiration 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your comment. Deeply appreciated. So true that people are so engrossed and obsessed with their phones these days that they dont even care where they are or the people around them who might be watching as they ‘play’ with ‘technology’. And oh yes, an act of kindness has a resounding effect that transcends the act itself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. But surely she of selfie stardom wants people to ‘like’ send her smilies and stroke her ego… or why post them? But maybe she feels anonymous on face book. Someone needs to explain how many people will see her if she puts herself on and unless she puts on ten pounds and dyes her hair cerise people will see and like and smile. 😞😟😮

    Liked by 1 person

    • I believe people should do things in moderation. When selfies are posted too often or on a daily basis, it becomes distasteful to me and I am not under any obligation to ‘like’ or comment on it. Of course, the number of compliments boosts the egos of the posters while they get demoralised when they fail to get the anticipated attention. Thank you for your comment. Cheers! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

