Attitude Is Everything!

A young lady was waiting for her flight in the Boarding Room of a big airport. As she would need to wait many hours, she decided to buy a book to spend her time, and also bought a packet of cookies. She then sat down in an armchair, in the VIP room of the airport, to rest and read in peace.

Beside the armchair, where the packet of cookies lay, a man sat down in the next seat, opened his magazine and started reading. When she took out the first cookie, the man took one also. She felt irritated, but said nothing. She just thought “What a nerve! If I was in the mood, I would punch him for daring!” And, for each cookie she took, the man took one too.

This was infuriating her, but she didn’t want to cause a scene. When only one cookie remained, she thought: “Ah… what would this abusive man do now?” Then, the man, taking the last cookie, divided it into half, giving her one half.

What? That was too much! She was much too angry now! In a huff, she insulted the man, took her book and her things, and stormed out to the boarding place. When she sat down in her seat, inside the plane, she looked into her bag, to take her eyeglasses and, to her surprise, her packet of cookies was there, untouched, and unopened!

She felt so ashamed! She realized that she was wrong. She had forgotten that her cookies were in her bag. The man had shared his cookies with her, without feeling angered or bitter, while she had been very angry, thinking that she was sharing her own cookies with him. And now, there was no chance to explain herself…nor to apologize!

In life, there are 4 things that you cannot recover…

  1. The cake… after it’s eaten!
  2. The word… after it’s spoken!
  3. The occasion… after it’s lost!
  4. The time… after it’s spent!

Let’s all be careful and watch our ATTITUDE ALWAYS.

PS: #Copied! Sent to my WhatsApp but I liked the morals and decided to share it here.

Peace and Love!

34 thoughts on “Attitude Is Everything!

  1. Great story! Though I have to admit that I would’ve been angry, too, if I thought someone was just helping himself to my cookies without asking first. I was just praying about this very thing this morning, trying to stay positive and stay gracious in any situation. We ought to be thankful that we even have anything to share and just when we think we’ve run out of whatever we had, we realize that our supply hasn’t even been touched. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • First I apologise for late response. I missed your comment and only just realised that now. Like you, I am very sure I would feel the same too… It will only gladden my heart that someone wants to share my ‘food’ with me even though he didn’t ask… But one thing I wouldn’t miss was to strike a conversation with the man. There is no way I would move away from him without talking and then, I would have discovered it was not even my cookie. But then, divinely, God replenishes our supplies even when we least expect. The story was a good lesson for all. And it portrays that humility is a good virtue on the man’s side. I appreciate your lovely comment and thank you so much Tara! Sunday blessings to you. Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! These are wise words. I’m dealing with so much emotional turmoil right now, and this is something I really needed to hear. I’m afraid what’s in my heart is poisoning everything in my life, and it’s a struggle to keep it from taking over. This helps me remember that I need to keep a level head, and that I shouldn’t rush to anger. What’s said cannot be forgotten, it can only be forgiven. Even then, the damage may never completely heal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad this post brings a respite to you. And you said it all – harsh spoken words do more damage. I am so sorry that you are emotionally low at this moment. Wish I could be of any help but try to flush out negative thoughts. Try to change your feeling frequency and mood so you’ll begin to heal gradually and think healthy. I pray God touches your heart and visits your situation. Blessings to you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree it is a great life lesson. It also draws out on humility and the joy in sharing. The man exhibited a high level of humility and kindness in sharing without truncating the “fun” by not telling the lady she was eating from him.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes absolutely.
        But in all honesty wouldn’t have let it go that far. I would have either said something or offered him the whole bag of cookies. I’m pretty finicky about cleanliness, therefore I always sanitize my hands before eating, so having a stranger stick his hands in my bag of cookies would freak me out lol

        Like

  3. Reblogged this on Inner Ramblings Boulevard: and commented:
    I learned to hold my tongue as early as my teenage years. Back then I discovered how powerful my words could be. I could use then to bring love and happiness into someone’s life or inflict pain and sorrow.

    I was never quick-witted, so instead I was calculated with everything I said to ensure I was not misunderstood.

    Being in the presence of those who knew how to push my buttons meant I was forced to stand up for myself but in such cases my tongue became a weapon — infecting a world of hurt just as tough it were a knife.

    I don’t like that I have the ability to be so mean and so I make a conscious effort to use my words for good and not evil.

    Say hello to simpledimple. She’s a new follower and her blog is very uplifting. The following post speaks of the powered of one’s attitude and of holding one’s tongue. Have a read and see if you agree. Enjoy! 🌷

    September 25 2016 (Showcase Reblog)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

