The Daily Prompt – Pretend!

Don’t drown me with your good acts

Don’t soak me with your kisses

Don’t confuse me with your sweet talks

For you know deeply

Yes, you know it’s only an act

You wear this makeover to come closer

You put up this mask to sway me

To make me feel worthy 

Now, I know who you truly are

And I can tell the difference

Between the colours you exhibit

That cream isn’t white

That yellow isn’t gold

And that blue isn’t royal blue

Yes, I have uncovered your masked face

So don’t drain my energy anymore

Don’t exhaust me again

With your false pretences

Go away with your deceitful lies

For life is simple

And I can tell

When I am someone’s cup of tea

**********

The Daily Prompt – Pretend.

Peace and Love!

Copyright © 2016 by Simpledimple.  All rights reserved.

 

7 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt – Pretend!

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – F.D. Lee – The Fairy’s Tale | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

