The Daily Prompt – Volunteer!

Deep within me

Deep within my soul

I hold a passion that no one else understands

A passion to render help

To people who did not solicit for it

And to some others in dire need of me

**********

How happy I feel to see the smiles on their faces

When I listen to their pathetic stories

The hurt and pain they have been through

And the lonesome feeling of separation

From families and loved ones

A moment with these Refugees

Became a time well spent

***********

I volunteer to help anyone

As my inner spirit leads me

And it did lead me to the elderly in my city

To be in their midst once every week

Together with other volunteers

We cook and eat together

Every visit to the elderly people’s home

Leaves me fulfilled and happier

**********

To listen to them as they share their pains and sorrows

To go on occasional walk with them

To visit and keep them company

To cheer them up

Became a craving

A strong desire

**********

Thus I create the time

‘Cos I love it so

To share a moment with them

To talk and listen to their heart aches

Became a source of joy to me

Became a passion I cherish

Perhaps, it’s innate in me

To help lessen the burden of others

So I pledged to give my time

For the sake of love

For humanity

To render help without a fee

To volunteer

Without any charges

**********

In response to the Daily Prompt – Volunteer.

Peace and Love!

Copyright © 2016 by Simpledimple.  All rights reserved.

 

7 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt – Volunteer!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Volunteer | Trash of Pi

Leave a Reply

