We have all lied…

I was asked, how are you?

I said, ‘fine’, thank you.

But I knew I wasn’t fine

I knew it was not the appropriate response.

‘Not fine’, would have been the right answer

I knew it, yet I said the wrong thing.

So I lied.

******

Why?

I shouldn’t have

******

How do I reveal to you, my dear friend?

That things are not what they seem

That like the Chameleon that changes its skin colour

I wear a camouflage

I shield myself in a mask

Wink, smile, laugh and dance

Because the truth is hard to tell sometimes

******

How do I tell you that I ate Fufu?

And not Spaghetti

How do I tell you that I ate Pap and Akara Balls?

And not bread with omelettes

******

How do I tell you that I borrowed money?

To buy the Aso-ebi

And didn’t pay cash and carry

How do I tell you that we are yet to pay the kids school fees?

And that I am worried sick of the consequences

******

How do I tell you that he slapped me?

And that the dark goggles I wear

Is not fashion but a façade

To disguise my red eyes and dark patches

How do I tell you?

That I had cried my heart out

That sleep eluded me

Because I was caught up with emotions

******

How do I tell you?

That jealousy and envy has eaten deep into me

Because life smiled on you

While my fortune is still sleeping

******

How do I tell you the truth about things?

 Tell me, how do I tell you that I detest peace?

That planning and plotting evil is my past-time

How do I tell you that the explosions and bombings

Are my handiwork?

How do I tell you the dark side of my heart?

How do I tell you?

The real me

******

Our responses never reveal our inner flaws

We hide the bitter truth

And affirm to the contrary

******

Aren’t we all liars?

Aren’t we all pretenders?

Wrapped up in false smiles

And in varied subtle ways

Say ‘Yes’ when we meant to say ‘No’

A New Site Title & Tagline

Day Two Assignment on Blogging 101.

Change according to the old cliché is the only constant thing in life.

Change is distinct. Change occurs in our daily lives and most times, cannot be noticed or observed except one take a close and deeper look. Change is one thing that we must accept, if we need to move forward.

Failing to embrace change mean we want to remain in a particular status-quo that wouldn’t bring us any good growth.  We would then become obsolete, redundant and complacent.

Change is ephemeral.

Change is normal.

Change is progressive and it’s what makes everyday life different and interesting.

Today’s Assignment:

By today’s tasks, I was once again reminded about a phenomenon that is very glaring in our daily lives. As humans, we desire transformation in certain areas of our lives.  We take practical steps to enable us achieve this goal.

Some changes pass through a period of trials and errors. Strategizing and re-strategizing. Getting it wrong and bracing up to redo it until we get it right.  I am a case study of this trial and error because I’ve tried some customizing on my blog without success. This is because I didn’t pay attention to the WordPress tutorials or guides as I ought to.

As at the time I started blogging, which is quite recent, I knew I wasn’t very satisfied with my blog outlook. And I silently wished to change its appearance. But as humans, I was slow to taking the move. Call it procrastination and you would have guessed right. I thought it was a cumbersome exercise to undertake. Hence the reluctance in me didn’t give me the nudge to be adventurous. And when I eventually tried, I didn’t have the patience to get it right.

I am happy that today’s assignment prompted me to take action, this time with zest and seriousness. A big thanks goes to the facilitators of the Blogging 101 Course.

Today, my blog has a coat of new colours, a new Theme as well as a new Site Title and Tagline.

Before the Site Title was SSD’s Random Thoughts

AND the Tagline was – Personal, Cultural Vibes, Articles, Poetry and more.

NOW:

Site Title is – SSD’s Giggles and Tales

And the Tagline is – Telling Life’s Stories with a Smile.

I believe that the new look is better than the old one.

These new names are explanatory. The ‘SSD’ means ‘Stella Simple Dimple’.  I hope it depicts the blogs content. My tales on this blog will be told with a sweet dimpled smile laced with a sense of humour.

So, as you peruse the changes on this new site, kindly let me know if you feel a giggle and a sparkle in your spirit. Tell me whatever you are thinking right now with regards to my new improved Blog Site.

Should the new look stay? Maybe a few touches here and there…

What do you think?

Thank you for reading me. Again, let’s keep writing and reading one another – the tales of life.

Cheers!